Databases

The Jericho Public Library subscribes to a variety of electronic resources as a service to our patrons. These professionally developed databases are an important source of accurate and authoritative information. With your Jericho library card you can access these databases from home, work or any Internet connection 24/7. These databases can also be accessed from the computers in the library’s Information Center. See the reference librarian for details.


 

A-to-Z (EBSCO)
provides a single, comprehensive list of journal and newspaper titles with the databases that include full text coverage.  Search by keyword or browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.  Link to the specific database from the annotated list that follows.  NOTE:  You will only be able to link to those databases that the Library subscribes to.
A to Z World Travel new
contains hundreds of world city travel guides covering attractions, transportation, shopping, restaurants, maps and more.  Comprehensive coverage in an easy to use interface.
ABI/ Inform Dateline (ProQuest)
includes hard-to-find regional business publications with news about local companies, local markets and more.
ABI/ Inform Research (ProQuest)
is a source of journal articles on a variety of business-related subject areas including economics and finance.
ABI/ Inform Trade & Industry (ProQuest)
presents trade and industry focused information in journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news.
ABMS Directory
is the official directory of board certified medical specialists.  Use it to find specialists in various geographic locations and to confirm whether or not a physician is board certified (and the specialty). After entering your Library card barcode, use the link at the bottom of the screen to go directly to the ABMS database.
Academic OneFile (Gale/NOVEL*)
is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.
Access Science
includes the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, new trends and developments, definitions of scientific and technical terms, biographies of scientists and thousands of illustrations.
ALLDATA Online (Only Available in the Library)
is a comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information on domestic and foreign cars and trucks from 1982 to the present. Access maintenance schedules and technical service bulletins.
Alt Health Watch (EBSCOhost)
provides full text articles from journals, newsletters and pamphlets as well as book excerpts with a focus on complementary and alternative approaches to health care and wellness.
America the Beautiful (Grolier/NOVEL*)
state-by-state coverage includes geography, history, economy, government and cultural highlights.  Timelines and maps are also featured.
Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest/Only Available in the Library) is a comprehensive genealogy resource center including census, vital, church, court and immigration records.  It contains billions of names as well as thousands of databases such as the U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930.
Annals of American History (Encyclopedia Britannica)
explores the rich and varied history of the United States through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images and multimedia.
AP Images   
includes photographs dating back to the 1800s and as current as a few moments ago.  The primary source content is provided by The Associated Press.

Biography in Context (Gale)
contains authoritative biographies from Gale Group sources and full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
Black Newspapers (ProQuest)
includes a collection of significant Black newspapers from the United States.
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale / NOVEL*)
is a source of information on companies and industries in the context of timely news, statistical data and in-depth reports.  It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.

Career Center (tutor.com) new
provides help in searching for a job, writing an effective resume or preparing for an interview.  Connect with a live career tutor everyday between 2-10pm.  Link to resources from the Skills Center 24/7.
Career Cruising
is an interactive career resource designed for people of all ages.  Find careers that match your interests, schools that offer specific programs or majors, financial aid information and help with resumes and cover letters. Conduct a job search from current listings.
ConsumerReports.org 
is one of the most trusted sources for information and advice on consumer products and services. Now includes articles from ConsumerReportsHealth.
Country Watch
is a source of up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.  Political, economic, investment, social and environmental overviews are included.
Credo Reference
provides a complete reference collection of over 3 million entries. Access the full text of more than 290 titles from over 50 publishers along with images, maps and data. Major topics including art, business, history, medicine, science and technology are covered.

Daily Life Through History (Including Daily Life in America)
offers information on people and places around the world, past and present.  Primary source documents, Web links, illustrations and maps are included.  Browse by time period, region or subject.

EBSCOhost Español
includes Primary Search and Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia translated into Spanish.  Search an individual database or both together.
Encyclopedia Americana (Grolier/NOVEL*)
can be used to search the encyclopedia’s content.  The Americana Journal, a weekly posting of current events as well as essays with Web links are included.  It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
is a powerful resource to search for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos and Web sites.  Access to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus is also included.
ERIC (Proquest)
is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to education-related literature. ERIC provides citations/abstracts from journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Gale LegalForms (Gale)
provides a wide selection of New York State legal forms on most popular subjects including real estate, trusts, wills, bankruptcy and divorce.  Sample letters are also featured.  Many forms can be filled in before printing.  Public users should consult an attorney for serious legal matters.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
is a multidisciplinary database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources in eBook format in the fields of the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion and social science.
General OneFile (Gale/NOVEL*)   
is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on  business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.
Global Reference Center (Encyclopedia Britannica)   
is an extensive collection of Encyclopedia Britannica’s foreign language content in Spanish, French, Chinese, Korean and Japanese.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Grolier Multimedia (Grolier/NOVEL*)
is derived from the Academic American Encyclopedia database. It consists of more than 40,000 articles and associated media, including still pictures, maps, sounds and multimedia.  It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale)
is a source of information on medicine, nutrition, diseases and herbal remedies. Included are links to Web sites and government databases.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale/NOVEL*) contains the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.
HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest)  
offers a collection of genealogical information dating from the late 1700s.  Search U.S. Federal Census records, over 20,000 books of family and local histories and primary source documents such as tax lists, city directories and more.
History Reference Center (EBSCOhost)  
includes full text from reference books, encyclopedias and history periodicals as well as historical documents, photos, maps and video.
Hoover’s Company Profiles (ProQuest)
covers public and non-public companies and key executives. Hoover’s, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses.

Informe (Gale)
is a collection of articles in Spanish on business, health, technology, culture and other topics.
Informese aqui
is brought to you by the Nassau Library System.  Discover the resources available to the Latino community.
InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale/NOVEL*)
is an innovative newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.  Search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers.

Lands and Peoples (Grolier/NOVEL*)
is derived directly from the articles that appear in the print version of this comprehensive resource on countries, cultures and current events.
Learning Express Library
is a resource center for elementary school students through adult learners.  Includes test preparation for SAT, GRE, GMAT, GED and other educational tests as well as civil service exams.  Computer skills tutorials and job search courses are also included.  Enter your library card number as your username.
LexisNexis Library Express (Remote access) 
includes extensive news coverage, detailed company information as well as legal resources. Note:  Legal resources are not available with remote access.
LexisNexis Library Express   (In-library)
includes extensive news coverage, detailed company information as well as legal resources.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) indexes journals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
is a complete literature reference database rich in biographical, bibliographical and critical content on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism and more.
LitFinder (Gale)
covers world literature and authors throughout history.  Access thousands of full text poems, short stories, speeches and plays as well as biographies, explanations and overviews to enhance understanding.
Live Homework Help (tutor.com)
provides help in math, science, social studies or English on a K through college level.  Use the Proof Point Writing Center to get a document reviewed.  Connect with a live tutor everyday between 2-10pm.  Link to resources from the Skills Center 24/7.

Magill On Literature Plus (EBSCOhost)
produced by Salem Press, is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
combines in one convenient database all the stock, fund, industry and ETF information necessary for in-depth research and smart portfolio construction.  It is a one-stop-shop for screening and report building tools including extensive help and education materials.

National Newspaper Index (Gale/NOVEL*)
provides indexing (1977-present) of America’s top five newspapers, the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post. It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.
National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest)
provides full text articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal as well as many other national newspapers.
Natural Standard
includes high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies, diet, exercise and nutrition.
New Book of Knowledge (Grolier/NOVEL*)
includes all the resources of the print version, informative articles, maps and illustrations, facts and figures as well as projects and activities.  It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.
New Book of Popular Science (Grolier/NOVEL*)
provides accessible, easy-to-understand articles on science, medicine and technology from The New Book of Popular Science database, a 2.5-million-word repository of text and images.
New York State Newspapers (Gale/NOVEL*)
provides full text articles from newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times, the Daily News and the New York Post.  It is available through NOVEL, a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library.
Newsday (1985-current/ProQuest)
includes full text coverage from 1985 through the present.
NextReads (EBSCO)
is a book suggestion e-mail newsletter service offered by the Library. The newsletters will be delivered directly to your inbox. Fiction and nonfiction topics are included. Newsletters are also available for children, tweens and teens. Each title includes links to the library catalog.
NoveList Plus (EBSCO)
is a complete resource for fiction and nonfiction pleasure reading. Find works by a favorite author or a list of titles in a particular series.  Locate titles that have received awards and honors.
Link to detailed book discussion guides.
NoveList Plus K-8 (EBSCO)
can be used to help locate both fiction and nonfiction titles for grades K-8.  Find books in such popular categories as adventure, mysteries, science fiction, graphic novels and sports. Award winners for children and teens are included.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale/NOVEL*)
is a one-stop source for information on today’s hottest social issues.  Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Web sites are featured.
Oxford Art Online is the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide in all its forms and mediums from prehistory to the present day.
Oxford Dictionaries Pro including Oxford English Dictionary
provides access to a dictionary and thesaurus as well as grammar, punctuation and spelling tips. Audio pronunciation is an additional plus. Link to the Oxford English Dictionary for the full history of a word.
Oxford Music Online
includes coverage of music history, instruments, composers, performers and genres.

PROMT/ Predicasts Overview of Markets and Technology (Gale)  
can be used to research companies, the products and technologies they produce and the markets in which they compete. It includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases and investment and brokerage firm reports.
ProQuest (Select from multiple databases)
contains articles in newspapers and magazines on a wide range of topics including art, business, education, health and the sciences.  Search an individual database or multiple databases.
ProQuest Computing 
includes top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets and the Internet.
ProQuest Education Journals
provides access to articles from top educational publications on primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education and hundreds of related topics.
ProQuest Health Management 
includes information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Newsday (1940-1985)
offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851-2009)
offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Newsstand
offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers from leading publishers throughout the world.
ProQuest Science Journals 
is a resource for both the applied and general sciences including astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, engineering, physics and more.

Reference USA
includes more than 14 million U.S. businesses with telephone numbers, addresses and contact information as well as directory information for U.S. residents and U.S. health care providers (physicians and dentists).  Searches can be customized to locate companies by SIC number, business size, geographical area, etc.
Research Library (ProQuest)
provides articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers on a broad range of subjects including the arts, business, education, health, psychology and the sciences.

Salem Health  (click on Remote Access Login tab)
provides online access to the complete content of the award-winning reference works Addictions & Substance Abuse, Cancer, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Magill’s Medical Guide and Psychology & Mental Health.
Science in Context (Gale)   
contains information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. Full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites are included.
Science Online (Facts on File)   
covers major topics in science and technology.  Science experiments, biographies and definitions are featured.
Scribner Writers Online (Gale)
includes bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Biographical information places the author’s work in personal and historical context.
Spanish Reference Center (Encyclopedia Britannica)
offers resources in Spanish for all ages in two unique interfaces, each with its own comprehensive encyclopedia: Enciclopedia Universal en Español for high school ages and up and Enciclopedia Juvenil for ages 6-12.

Testing & Education Reference Center 
is the perfect online tool whether you are headed for college, planning for graduate school or starting a new career.  Find current information on colleges and universities, available scholarships and financial aid.  Interactive practice tests for many examinations such as the ACT, GED, GMAT, GRE, LSAT and SAT are included. You can also practice taking the TOEFL, PRAXIS and civil service and military tests.
Transparent Language Online with Byki 
is a powerful language learning database of over 80 languages including English for speakers of other languages. You must create a user name and password to keep track of your progress.
Twayne’s Authors Online (Gale)
offers in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world, including close analysis of key works. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.

21st-Century Explorer (Encyclopedia Britannica)
is a powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos and Web sites.  Two levels of searching are available.  It is ideal for reluctant readers, ESL students and adult literacy students.
2-1-1 Long Island 
is an online directory of health, human services and education agencies and programs on Long Island – services for children, teens, adults, families and seniors in both Nassau and Suffolk counties.

U.S. History in Context (Gale)    
provides access to historical (primary) documents as well as articles from reference titles and journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Universal Class    
is a service providing quality online continuing education courses.  Select from hundreds of subjects.  Enroll in up to 5 courses.  Finish each course within a six month period.  Earn CEUs that meet IACET standards.  Access your course 24/7 via the Internet and communicate with the instructor by e-mail.
First-time users create username & password HERE
Returning users login HERE

Value Line Research Center               
includes the Investment Survey, Small & Mid-Cap edition, Mutual Funds, Options, Convertibles and more.  Value Line is one of the most widely used independent investment information services.

Webster’s Dictionary Online (Encyclopedia Britannica)
provides access to Webster’s Third New International Dictionary Unabridged,  the largest and most comprehensive American dictionary.
World Book Online 
includes all of the articles from the print version of the World Book as well as articles specially created for the online format.  Content is updated on a regular basis.  Click on the link to World Book Advanced for primary sources and e-books.
World Data Analyst (Encyclopedia Britannica)  
features country snapshots, detailed statistics and the tools for creating comparative charts and tables.
World History in Context (Gale)   
is a comprehensive collection of articles from reference titles and journals as well as primary sources, images, maps and charts covering world history from ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance.
World News Digest (Facts on File)
brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts on File World News Digest in print.

 

* NOVEL is a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library. Click here for access to NOVEL databases using your New York State Driver License ID or valid non-driver photo ID.

"A library outranks any other one thing a community can do to benefit its people." --Andrew Carnegie